The Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

One tradition that exists on BookTube (I plan to do a future blog post of my favorite booktubers soon ; would you be interested to read it? Please comment to let me know!) are the tag videos. These tags are created by booktubers and they "tag" someone to do it after. Even if I wasn't tagged – obviously, I'm not a booktuber -, I decided to do it because it is a fun way to mark the first half of 2017!

So, here it goes!

1. BEST BOOK YOU’VE READ SO FAR IN 2016

That would be Station Eleven, by Emily St. John Mandel. I talked about this book in my first blog post, where I listed my 5 favorite books of 2017 so far. It's been 3 or 4 months since I read it, and I still think about it. The author succeded in creating an atmospheric ambiance, and although I wouldn't want to live through what the characters did, I did feel like I was a part of that world when I was reading it. I loved the character development, the author's style and the fact that this novel takes place over the course of 20 years.

What are you wainting for? Go read it!!!

2. BEST SEQUEL YOU’VE READ SO FAR IN 2016

I'm being very bad this year at continuing series that I've already started. I think I've only read three (and started about 4 new series… Aaah, well – what do you want to do!) sequels so far. The best one is without a doubt Silence Fallen, by Patricia Briggs. This is the tenth installment of Mercy Thompson, which is an urban-fantasy series. It deals with werewolves (and I love that pack!), vampires (which are not overly used, so yay for me) and fae. Patricia Briggs includes a lot of mythological elements in her novel that are taken from the Native American, Celtic, and Balkan traditions.

Silence Fallen was a good sequel because the author changed a bit her recipe. She sent our favorite couple in Europe, but not on a honeymoon trip, I can assure you! I liked that we were able to read the situation from both perspectives : Mercy, which is the main character and the perspective we usually read from, and her mate. I loved seeing how her mate (see how I avoid naming him? I'm a spoiler-ninja!) reacted to Mercy's… aptitude for being in the wrong place at the worst possible time… And that is all that I will say!

 

3. NEW RELEASE YOU HAVEN’T READ YET, BUT WANT TO

Last year, I read A long way to a small angry planet, by Becky Chambers and I fell in love with the story and the characters. A closed and Common Orbit was released at the beggining of the year and is currently waiting to be read in my scary TBR pile… I hope I'll get to it before the end of the year!

4. MOST ANTICIPATED RELEASE FOR THE SECOND HALF OF THE YEAR

Without a heartbeat's hesitation, this would be Artemis, by Andy Weir. I didn't even read the synopsis before adding it to my TBR pile ; knowing that Andy Weir is the author is enough for me! (For those who don't know, he is the author of The Martian, which was one of my favorite reads of 2015!)

5. BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT

Without a doubt, my biggest disappointment was The Bronze Horseman, by Paulllina Simons. I had heard that it was an epic romance set in Russia during the Second World War. I really loved the part where we followed the main character as she was struggling to survive during the war. It's the "epic romance" that really disppointed me. I found it to be an almost abusing relationship and the main character was definitely getting on my nerves. Not what I hoped it would be!

6. BIGGEST SURPRISE

My biggest surprise was My brilliant friend by Elena Ferrante. Not that I didn't expect to enjoy this book, but Vanessa warned me before I read it that it was a peculiar read and that it had a slow start. I was prepared to struggle through the first hundred pages, but finally I was sucked by the story almost immediately. I loved to read a book where friendship was at the center of the story, it really was refreshing.

7. FAVOURITE NEW AUTHOR (DEBUT OR NEW TO YOU)

My new favourite author would be Liz Moore, that I discovered with The Unseen World, which was in my mid-year favorite books' blog post. I love her writing style, its simplicity and her characters. I look forward to reading more of her novels. The next on my list is Heft.

 

 

 

8. NEWEST FICTIONAL CRUSH

I'm cheating a bit, but since I reread this book this year, I decided that it counts. My fictionnal crush would be Brashen Trell, from the Liveship Traders Trilogy, by Robin Hobb. I love how he is loyal to Althea, even though he has a knack for always making the worst possible decision.

9. NEWEST FAVOURITE CHARACTER

Sadly, I do not have a new favourite character this year… Maybe before the end of the year!

10. BOOK THAT MADE YOU CRY

I would definitely say that it was Night, by Elie Wiesel. Elie Wiesel lived through the Second World War and in this autobiographical memoir, he recounts his stays at both Auschwitz and Buchenwald. Definetely a short, but intense read.

11. BOOK THAT MADE YOU HAPPY

I don't have an absolute favorite for this answer, but I would say Eleventh Grave in Moonlight, by Darynda Jones. Charley, the main character, always makes me laugh by her repartee. I did have issues with this book, but it still made me happy.

12. FAVOURITE BOOK TO FILM ADAPTATION YOU SAW THIS YEAR

I did not see a lot a film adaptations this year, so I'll go with one that I didn't read : Logan. It was a pretty violent movie, but I really liked that we saw more of Logan's emotional side. It was also a breath of fresh air amongst all those superheroes movies.

13. FAVOURITE REVIEW YOU’VE WRITTEN THIS YEAR

I think my favorite review that I've written is When Breath Becomes Air.

14. MOST BEAUTIFUL BOOK YOU’VE BOUGHT SO FAR THIS YEAR (OR RECEIVED)

Definitely my 20th year edition of Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone! For those who wonder, it's the Ravenclaw cover… because I'm a Ravenclaw of course!

 

 

 15. WHAT BOOKS DO YOU NEED TO READ BY THE END OF THE YEAR?

Americanah, by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Assassin's Fate, by Robin Hobb

The Diary of a Young Girl, by Anne Frank

 

 

 

 

Now, Vanessa it's your turn to do this tag!! You've officially been tagged!

One thought on “The Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

